About WDA

Officer and Trustee Elections

Dentists may nominate colleagues or themselves for the positions of WDA president-elect, vice president, and speaker of the house. Each serves for one year and the speaker’s term can be renewed indefinitely.

Submit candidates’ names by June 1, 2017 to the Nominating Committee (see below). The committee will present its slate of candidates to the WDA House of Delegates when it meets Nov. 3 – 4, 2017 in Stevens Point. Nominations will also be accepted from the House floor at that time.

Nominees’ digital headshots and curriculum vitae should be sent to Lisa Chandre at lchandre@wda.org or faxed to 414-755-4105 by Aug. 1 for publication in the September WDA Insider blog and October WDA Journal.

Contact Executive Director Mark Paget at 800-234-4515 (toll-free, direct) / mpaget@wda.org or your regional Nominating Committee representative for detailed position descriptions or any questions about the WDA officer nominating process.

President-elect and vice president

The president-elect serves for one year before automatically advancing to the presidency. Duties include hosting Legislative Day and working with WDA staff and the Michigan Dental Association delegation chair to coordinate caucus meetings for the American Dental Association’s 9th District. The vice president also serves for one year.The president, president-elect and vice president work closely together to represent the dental profession in meetings with government officials and state legislators. These three officers support one another in serving as WDA spokespersons with the media and other organizations.

Speaker of the House
Working with staff, the speaker sets the WDA House of Delegates’ agenda. He or she presides over all House meetings, performing duties according to parliamentary procedure, and guiding the Reference Committee when necessary with resolution wording and procedures. He or she also serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees.The Speaker of the House is elected for a one-year term that can be renewed indefinitely.Please contact Executive Director Mark Paget at 800-234-4515 (toll-free, direct) or mpaget@wda.org for detailed position descriptions.

How to nominate

Individuals may nominate colleagues or themselves by submitting candidates’ names to the Nominating Committee:

Region 1
Dr. Patrick Liedl, 715-986-2599, pdliedl@yahoo.com

Region 2
Dr. Marty Williams, 920-662-1600, marty@sierradentalgb.com

Region 3
Dr. Angela Lueck,414-271-1770 lueckangela@gmail.com

Region 4
Dr. John Onderak, 608-363-9400, johrak363@att.net

Region 5
Dr. Kendra Schaefer, Chair, 608-222-6606, kendrasdmd@hotmail.com

Please direct questions about the nominating process to your regional representative or Executive Director Mark Paget at 800-234-4515 or mpaget@wda.org.

2017 trustee opportunities
To be announced

Trustee candidates
Johnson Chris 14
Region 1 – Dr. Christopher Johnson (Eau Claire) has indicated he wishes to be considered for 2nd and final 3-year term.

Crum Paula 14 PREFERREDRegion 2 – Dr. Paula Crum (Green Bay) has indicated she wishes to be considered for 2nd and final 3-year term.


Mueller Rick Region 3 14 - PREFERREDRegion 3- Dr. Richard Mueller (Milwaukee) has indicated he wishes to be considered for 2nd and final 3-year term.


Meyers Carl 14 - PREFERREDRegion 4 – Dr. Carl Meyers (West Bend) has indicated he wishes to be considered for 2nd and final 3-year term.


lacrosseeast-ukerRegion 5- Dr. Joe Uker (La Crosse) has indicated he wishes to be considered for first full 3-year term.


There also are multiple opportunities for dentists and dental hygienists to make things happen in their profession by serving on WDA committees.


Trustee elections

The Board of Trustees is the managing body of the association with responsibility for conducting all WDA business as outlined in the organization’s bylaws and as directed through House policy decisions. The Board also establishes interim policies essential to the management of the association or of an emergent nature between annual House meetings.

Voting for WDA trustees takes place in all regions in early August. Electronic balloting is used when there is only one declared candidate in a region. In contested elections, paper ballots are mailed to all regional members in good standing.

Nominations for five regional trusteeships are being accepted through April 1, 2017. Candidates should submit a headshot photo (digital preferred) and CV to Lisa Chandre at lchandre@wda.org.

ADA 9th District Trustee

Any questions about this position can be directed to Mark Paget..

About WDA