Officer and Trustee Elections

Dentists may nominate colleagues or themselves for the positions of WDA president-elect, vice president and speaker of the house. Each serves for one year and the speaker’s term can be renewed indefinitely.

Submit candidates’ names by June 3, 2019 to the Nominating Committee (Click for Committee roster). The committee will present its slate of candidates to the WDA House of Delegates when it meets Nov. 8-9, 2019 in Eau Claire. Nominations will also be accepted from the House floor at that time.

Nominees’ digital headshots and curriculum vitae should be sent to Lisa Chandre at [email protected] or faxed to 414-755-4101 by Aug. 1 for publication in the September WDA Insider blog and October WDA Journal.

Contact Executive Director Mark Paget at 414-755-4100 / [email protected] or your regional Nominating Committee representative for detailed position descriptions or any questions about the WDA officer nominating process.

President-elect and vice president

The president-elect serves for one year before automatically advancing to the presidency. Duties include hosting Legislative Day and working with WDA staff and the Michigan Dental Association delegation chair to coordinate caucus meetings for the American Dental Association’s 9th District. The vice president also serves for one year. The president, president-elect and vice president work closely together to represent the dental profession in meetings with government officials and state legislators. These three officers support one another in serving as WDA spokespersons with the media and other organizations.

Speaker of the House
Working with staff, the speaker sets the WDA House of Delegates’ agenda. He or she presides over all House meetings, performing duties according to parliamentary procedure, and guiding the Reference Committee when necessary with resolution wording and procedures. He or she also serves as an ex-officio member of the Board of Trustees. The Speaker of the House is elected for a one-year term that can be renewed indefinitely.

Shall pay out all monies belonging to the Association on written order of the executive director; furnish surety bond in the amount required by the Board of Trustees before entering upon duties; review and approve payment of expenses of WDA officers and report on Association financial activities at each meeting of the Board of Trustees and House. Shall serve as chair of the Finance Committee and as an ex-officio member of the House and Board, without the right to vote. Shall serve as WDA officer to WDA Insurance and Services Corp. board of directors. The treasurer is eligible to serve unlimited three year terms and is appointed by the Board of Trustees.

Please contact Executive Director Mark Paget at 414-755-4100 or [email protected] for detailed position descriptions.

2019 Officer Elections:

WDA President –  Dr. Thomas Raimann (Milwaukee)


WDA President-Elect – Dr. Paula Crum (Green Bay)


WDA Vice President – Dr. Cliff Hartmann (New Berlin)



WDA Speaker of the House – Dr. Monica Hebl (Milwaukee)


WDA Treasurer – Dr. John Moser (Milwaukee)





There also are multiple opportunities for dentists and dental hygienists to make things happen in their profession by serving on WDA committees.

Trustee elections

The Board of Trustees is the managing body of the association with responsibility for conducting all WDA business as outlined in the organization’s bylaws and as directed through House policy decisions. The Board also establishes interim policies essential to the management of the association or of an emergent nature between annual House meetings.

Voting for WDA trustees takes place in all regions in early August. Electronic balloting is used when there is only one declared candidate in a region. In contested elections, paper ballots are mailed to all regional members in good standing.

Open seats available in 2019 include: Northwest Region 1, Northeast Region 2, Greater Milwaukee Region 3, Southeast Region 4 and Southwest Region 5. Incumbent trustees in Regions 1, 2, 3 and 5 are eligible to serve another 3-year term. Incumbent to Region 3 has stated he does not wish to be considered for re-election. Region 4 is currently serving second and final 3-year term and will therefore be ineligible to serve.   

Nominations for five regional trusteeships are being accepted through April 1, 2019. Candidates should submit a headshot photo (digital preferred) and CV to Lisa Chandre at [email protected].

Northwest Region 1 – Dr. Jon Nelson (Superior)

Northeast Region 2 – Dr. Tim Harper (Fond du Lac)


Greater Milwaukee Region 3 –Dr. Angela Lueck (Milwaukee)


Southeast Region 4 – Dr. Laura Lux (Lake Geneva)


Southwest Region 5 – Dr. Thomas Reid (Madison)

2019 ADA 9th District Delegation – WI – Roster